I’ve come to have a deeper understanding of what community is over these past few months. it means so much to me that I don’t even have the words to describe how intimate and refreshing of an environment it is. the intimacy that comes with friendship and community is severely underrated and I really don’t understand why. I never knew this place, or such a thing existed. I never knew love beyond the bounds of relationships, I never knew that you could have such love for people that their pain becomes your pain, their joy becomes your joy, their presence adds meaning and value to your life. 

I never knew that there was such a thing as having your soul be intertwined with someone else’s, on a spiritual level, intimately but without physical connection. I never knew that you could be so intimate without being in love. because of this community, I have grown and I have flourished and it brings so much joy to my heart to see those that I love do the same. I never knew that I could be supported and loved, and continuously reminded of my value in people’s lives even at my lowest and darkest points. my community is everywhere and it’s what helps me grow, my community is in my church, it’s in my family, it’s in my friends, it’s in my online space and how beautiful they all are. 

when you begin to surround yourself with those that truly care regardless of the season you will understand love, intimacy and passion on a deeper level. you will truly understand that family isn’t only blood. I love my people, they help me grow, they help me flourish, they help me to find out who I am when I lose my path; and I cry at how much I’d thought I’d lost, and now how much I have gained. 

only God will ever know how much my heart sings for joy every single day. I am loved, and I am valued – and that’s ok. 

Leave a Reply

